Slips Away

533abf9e348afa26a6fa4952b45e0303

Days like today I feel her so much more. Like she is squeezing my hand a little tighter, like she needs me more than my heart aches for her already. As if her spirit somehow craves to touch me. The air smells of her and the sun is like a blanket she wraps around me holding us closer than ever before. It overwhelms me, the feeling of her. I know she is always near me, yet today she crawls a little deeper inside. My eyes fall shut, I feel her cheek pressed against mine and without a word her breath becomes the wind. Rain falls through the sunlight glistening across my face flushed dizzy with dreams and then disappears…I don’t want to leave this moment of sweet desparation. This feeling of her need fulfilling my hearts desire to give her everything she has ever wanted before she slipped away…before she slips away again like the breeze that carried her to this heart of mine…don’t flutter away my angel, stay awhile longer. Let me hold your hand as the sun sets beyond where you lie in the horizon waiting for me. You don’t have to wait for me my love…be my shadow, be my heartbeat’s echo, be my first breath still wet with the dew of my dreams chasing you through the flowers…be my sweet ache, my pain, my joy and my sorrow. Don’t decide I’ll be ok and fade into the clouds because I will never be ok without you. I will never be whole if you are even just a little further from my thoughts. Let my heart carry you until my last breath… then we can carry each other into the horizon across that river you promised to meet me at…we will never be apart and never feel anything accept the sunlight that warms the grass we will lay on…forever

©Higherhawk 2015

7 thoughts on “Slips Away

Leave a comment